Poems of Family

Lost and Found

I thought I lost my shoe today.
It hid and made me late for play.
I searched and searched and found it where
I’d left it, underneath my chair.

I thought I lost my tooth today.
It fell right on my bed and lay
Right there ‘til Jessie jumped on top.
We found it with the duster mop.

I thought I lost my dog today.
I told him that he had to stay
And wait for me. But he forgot.
I found him in the parking lot.

I thought I lost my star today.
“We’ll find it, hon,” I heard Mom say.
And do you know? My mom was right.
It’s shining where it was last night.

I thought I lost my heart today.
I prayed so hard it flew away.
I missed my heart until I saw
It cradled by ‘Abdu’l-Bahá.

I lost so many things today.
My dad says some days go that way.
So I’m confused. Which can it be?
Did I lose them, or they lose me?

Lost and Found PDF

Leave a comment